Sunday, January 29, 2017

Summit Sessions #78

Instead of contrived metaphors, just use this episode to just forget about the world for a week or so.

Seriously, it's pretty messed up out there, and it seems inappropriate to talk about that sort of stuff right now. If you need an escape of sorts, then listen to this for an hour.

(00:00) Max Graham vs. Estiva - Generation (Breakbeat Mix) [Cycles]
(05:58) Stephen Kirkwood - The Wolf (Dulcet Remix) [JOOF]
(10:13) Airwave - Pray For Happiness (DeCode Remix) [JOOF]
(16:58) Forerunners - Samadhi [Saturate]
(22:36) Darkployers - Do It! [In Sessions]
(27:21) Airwave - A Touch Of Grace (Deep And Dark Mix) [Bonzai Progressive]
(33:19) Orkidea - Nana [Black Hole]
(38:02) RAM & James Dymond ft. Kim Kiona - End Of Times (Paul Thomas & Shadow Of Two Remix) [Grotesque]
(42:11) Stuart Ferguson - Voodoo [Create]
(46:29) Menno de Jong - Ahimsa (2nd Phase Remix) [In Trance We Trust]
(50:45) Mark Sherry & Alex Di Stefano - Everyone Is Looking For Us [Outburst]
(56:08) Cold Blue - Dreamland (Stephen Kirkwood Remix) [Grotesque]

Sunday, January 22, 2017

Summit Sessions #77

Do you like pretty music? Then the first half of this episode is for you.

The second half, not so much.

Anyone who knows me well knows that I like contrast when it comes to art. Whether it's a raw bassline underpinning something melodic, or something small next to something large, contrast - at the risk of becoming philosophical - is what allows us to know the true nature of something.

In this case, that's trance.

(00:00) Sam Davies - Northern Lights (Dezza Remix) [Silk]
(04:58) Forerunners - Watching The Lights Go Down [Touchstone]
(11:25) Art Of Trance - Ultrafoxx (Airwave Remix) [Platipus]
(16:55) Basil O'Glue - Dropout [Afterglow]
(22:25) Mike Sanders - Route 66 (Craft Integrated Remix) [Alter Ego]
(27:21) Orkidea & Lowland - Glowing Skies [Black Hole]
(32:27) Sean Tyas - Rollout [Black Hole]
(36:46) Stephen Kirkwood - Homeland [Lange]
(41:18) Aimoon & Vlad Varel ft. Eva Kade - One More Night (Matt Chowski Remix) [Digital Society]
(46:38) Stuart Ferguson - Voodoo [Create]
(51:21) RAM & James Dymond ft. Kim Kiona - End Of Times (Paul Thomas & Shadow Of Two Remix) [Grotesque]

Sunday, January 15, 2017

Summit Sessions #76

The world is a pretty amazing place.

I was reminiscing last night about the road trip I made to the Canadian arctic last summer. There is nothing in my life thus far which compares to the sheer amount of awe I felt on my journey for this planet on which we live. I spoke last week about the raw brutality hidden behind the beauty, and I think that plays a big part in the wonder of it all - some of the most amazing places I saw were also some of the most inhospitable places on the planet. Like last week, I think this episode serves as an appropriate metaphor.

(00:00) Basil O'Glue & Gordey Tsukanov - The Day Before [Saturate]
(04:46) Jamie Baggots - New Wave [Pure Trance Progressive]
(10:56) Full Tilt - Class War [Perfecto Fluoro]
(16:04) Winkee - Awakening (Giuseppe Ottaviani Remix) [Pure Trance]
(22:08) David Broaders & DenSity FuZion - Breathe [Silk]
(26:30) Sean Tyas - Rollout [Black Hole]
(30:51) Johnny Yono, Monoverse & Somna - Hijackers [Lange]
(34:31) Mallorca Lee & Stephen Kirkwood - 2029 (Jamie Walker Remix) [Outburst]
(39:20) Stuart Ferguson - Voodoo [Create]
(43:48) RAM & James Dymond ft. Kim Kiona - End Of Times (Paul Thomas & Shadow Of Two Remix) [Grotesque]
(47:45) Menno de Jong - Abhyasa (Alex Di Stefano Remix) [In Trance We Trust]
(53:00) Simon Patterson ft. Matt Adey - Time Stood Still [Armind]

Sunday, January 8, 2017

Summit Sessions #75

Snowcapped mountains are beautiful.

I know that's a pretty common opinion to hold, but  I feel compelled to say it right now. A winter storm blew through Denver earlier this week, and has left the nearby Rocky Mountains covered in white powder. However, their beauty hides the sheer brutality of Mother Nature; I certainly would not want to be face-to-face with her with no protection.

What an applicable metaphor for this episode of Summit Sessions.

(00:00) Mea Culpa - The Child (Gary Delany Remix) [Pure Trance]
(05:26) Simon Patterson ft. Sarah Howells - Dissolve [Armind]
(11:22) Stuart Ferguson - Maramor [Create]
(14:58) Cold Blue - Dreamland (Stephen Kirkwood Remix) [Grotesque]
(20:14) Ikorus - Twitch [Outburst Twilight]
(24:53) Steve Haines & CBM - Memphis [Perfecto Black]
(28:12) CARINA - Freedom [Universal Nation]
(33:44) The Digital Blonde - Argo [JOOF]
(38:40) Adam Ellis - Mr. Mayhem [Outburst Twilight]
(43:37) Sean Tyas - Hive (A) [Black Hole]
(48:26) Lostly - By Morning You'll Be Gone (Pure Trance Intro Mix) [Black Hole]
(53:15) Simon Patterson ft. Lucy Pullin - Now I Can Breathe Again [Armind]

Sunday, January 1, 2017

Summit Sessions #74 - Everest Edition

It's the new year, and we're starting 2017 off right with an Everest episode.

Yep, that means one hour of raw tech and psy trance so you can hit the ground running and leave 2016 in the dust. Just be careful not to listen to this while driving or you might find yourself well above the speed limit.

(00:00) Indecent Noise & RAM - Doom Device [Mental Asylum]
(05:34) Johan Ekman - Exhale (John Askew Remix) [Perfecto Fluoro]
(11:31) Chris Metcalfe - Prospector [Subculture]
(16:33) Oberon - Stabilised [Discover Dark]
(22:02) Sneijder & Bryan Kearney - Next Level [Subculture]
(26:22) Project 8 - Injector [Outburst]
(31:10) DJ Misjah & DJ Tim - Access (John Askew Remix) [Perfecto Fluoro]
(36:46) Will Atkinson - Watch Out (Part 2) [Subculture]
(41:21) Tangle - Oblivion [Digital Society]
(46:02) David Forbes - Toscana [Aria Digital]
(51:03) Coming Soon vs. Bryan Kearney - Anti Social Media (Sean Tyas Remix) [Spin Twist]
(56:19) Simon Patterson & Jordan Suckley - Vanilla [Reset]